Spr VB-Howard.jpg

Springville’s Nia Howard turned in a phenomenal 2020 campaign for the Oriole volleyball team and for her efforts was named a third-team class 1A All-State pick by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association.

       DES MOINES - She was the orchestrator of an amazing Springville offense, one that thrilled Oriole fans all season long and advanced all the way to the state volleyball tournament for a second season in a row.

      Springville setter Nia Howard raised her game to an entirely new level in 2020, and for her efforts was named a class 1A third-team All-State pick by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association.

      The good news for Oriole volleyball fans?

      Howard’s only a sophomore.

      Howard turned in mind-boggling numbers leading Springville to a 27-5 overall record and top-10 state ranking by setting a school-record 742 assists. As if that wasn’t impressive enough, Howard added 216 digs, 85 kills, served at a 92-percent clip with 33 aces while also helping the defense with 10 blocked shots.

      Howard was also the lone Tri-Rivers Conference player to earn class 1A All-State honors. Maquoketa Valley senior Emerson Whittenbaugh was named to the class 2A third-team.

      Joining Howard as class 1A third-team All-State selections were: Claire Pothitakis, sr. (Holy Trinity), Rachel Drake, sr. (East Mills), Sydney Matthias, so. (Wapsie Valley Fairbank), Lauren Williams, jr. (Council Bluffs-St. Albert), Jenna Brown, sr. (Don Bosco) and Nichola Phillippe, sr. (Belle Plaine).

      Earning first-team class 1A All-State honors were: Lydia Imbrogno, jr. (Wapsie Valley Fairbank), Saari Kuehl, sr. (Gladbrook-Reinbeck), Allie Petry, sr. (Council Bluffs-St. Albert), Gabby Gergen, sr. (Janesville), Rachel Lengel, sr. (LeMars Gehlen Catholic), Gabby Deery, so. (Burlington-Notre Dame) and Katie Stephens, jr. (Burlington-Notre Dame).

      Earning second-team All-State honors were: Pyper McCarville, jr. (Janesville), Ella Larson, sr. (Newell-Fonda), Emma McClintock, so. (Gladbrook-Reinbeck), Tara Peterson, sr. (Stanton), Jaylen Bork, sr. (MMCRU), Kassi Randolph, jr. (Holy Trinity) and Kalvyn Rosengarten, so. (Wapsie Valley Fairbank).

      Claiming class 1A All-State honorable mention status were: Megan Cooley, so. (Gladbrook-Reinbeck), Lauren Heying, jr. (LeMars-Gehlen Catholic), Brooke Trees, sr. (North Butler), Naomi Hovenga, sr. (Janesville), Lizzie Garber, sr. (BCLUW), Macy Sievers, jr. (Newell-Fonda), Mallory Mueller, so. (Tripoli), Morgan Graber, sr. (WACO), Mandy Chizek, so. (Belle Plaine), Emily Williams, so. (East Mills), Abbi Bailey, sr. (Kingsley-Pierson), Josie Hartman, jr. (Southeast Warren) and Keaura Williams, so. (New London).

      Council Bluffs-St. Albert’s Allie Petry was named class 1A Player of the Year while Gladbrook-Reinbeck’s Paula Kelley claimed 1A Coach of the Year honors.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.