Springville boys basketball coach Nick Merritt was named class 1A substate 4 Coach of the Year after guiding the Orioles to just their second state tournament appearance ever, and first since 1975. It’s the second such honor for Merritt who was already named Tri-Rivers Conference Coach of the Year.

       DES MOINES - Completing a run through class 1A substate 4, the Springville boys basketball team defeated Morning Star Academy, Lone Tree, Highland and Pekin on their way to the state basketball tournament at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

      The journey won’t soon be forgotten by anyone in Springville, and there was one Oriole player that substate 4 coaches won’t soon forget either.

      Alex Koppes.

      The talented Springville junior was named the No. 1 player in the substate as the Orioles put on an absolutely shooting clinic during their march to Des Moines.

      Koppes was the leader of that sizzling crew and for the season averaged 19.8 points per game for a team that finished with a 20-6 overall record.

      Not only was Koppes named as the substate’s top player, but his coach Nick Merritt claimed the Coach of the Year honor.

      Joining Koppes as class 1A All-substate 4 selections were: Nik Coble, sr. (WACO), Keegan Edwards, sr. (Lone Tree), Zach Lasek, sr. (Highland), Eli Ours, jr. (Hillcrest Academy), Brady Millikin, jr. (Pekin), Maddox Griffin, so. (Wapello) and Blaise Porter, fr. (New London).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.