DES MOINES - With COVID raging all over Iowa, the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) and Iowa Football Coaches Association (IFCA) wanted to make sure high school football players from all over the state would still be recognized for their outstanding 2020 accomplishments, even without the two organizations being able to get together for their annual face-to-face All-State football meeting.

      Sunday, Nov. 22, the IPSWA and IFCA instead held a virtual All-State zoom meeting where an impressive six area football stars earned honors, led by first-team awards for Anamosa senior Connor Andresen and Springville senior Spencer DeMean.

      Anamosa senior Trae Klatt, Midland senior Iziek Soper, Springville senior Grant Gloeckner as well as junior teammate Luke Menster were all named third-team selections by the writers and coaches.

      For Andresen, he becomes one of just a precious few Anamosa football players to have ever earned back-to-back first-team All-State football honors, after also being selected on the class 2A defensive line as a junior a year ago.

      Andresen was once again dominant for the Raiders coming through with 30 tackles this past fall, five of which went for losses and included three quarterback sacks.

      DeMean, named an 8-player first-team All-State pick at running back, was phenomenal in 2020 rushing for 1,434 yards and 23 touchdowns averaging 8.1 yards per carry. DeMean totaled 27 touchdowns overall (23 rushing, three on kick returns and one receiving) leading the Orioles to a third-place finish in the district and 6-3 overall record.

      This was also the second-straight season DeMean earned All-State honors after being a third-team pick a year ago.

      Klatt had a breakout 2020 campaign in earning his 2A third-team All-State honor at wide receiver/tight end.

      The Raider senior hauled in a team-best 48 passes for 783 yards and six touchdowns averaging 16.3 yards per catch.

      Soper, one of the most physically gifted players in the state, was the focus of every opposing offense trying to scheme away from the Midland senior who was named an 8-player third-team All-State defensive line pick.

      Soper tallied 62 tackles, with 47 coming as solos, 14 going for losses and added eight quarterback sacks.

      Gloeckner earned his second-straight 8-player third-team All-State honor, this time coming at linebacker, after a season that saw the senior record a team-best 63 tackles, 29 solos, 10 for losses and one quarterback sack.

      Menster was a bright star in the Oriole passing game earning his 8-player third-team All-State award at wide receiver/tight end. The junior tallied 22 receptions for 544 yards and eight touchdowns this past fall while averaging a whopping 24.7 yards per catch.

      Anamosa’s class 2A district 5 was well represented as all six district programs had players named to All-State teams led by six participants from district champion Camanche, who had two first-teamers (Cade Everson, jr. running back/fullback and Jordan Lawrence, sr. wide receiver/tight end), two second teamers (Mike Delzell, jr. offensive utility and Eric Kinkaid, jr. defensive utility) and two third-team picks (Zayne Feller, sr. linebacker and Tucker Dickherber, jr. defensive back).

      Monticello followed with four players named to 2A All-State teams led by a first-team nod for senior defensive back Tyler Luensman while junior Caleb Sauser was named a second-team punt/kick returner. Luke Lambert (sr. quarterback) and Owen Thomas (jr. offensive line) were third-team selections for the Panthers.

      Tipton had three players named, including two first-teamers (Nile Schuett, sr. offensive line and Payten Elijah, sr. punter). Jack Boldt was a second-team pick on the offensive line for the Tigers.

      Anamosa’s two All-State picks were third-most in the district while West Liberty (Jahsiah Galvan, jr. first-team running back/full) and Maquoketa (Caiden Atienza, sr. third-team wide reciver/tight end) each had one player named.

      Midland and Springville’s class 8-player district 3 was also loaded with All-State talent as the IPSWA/IFCA named 15 players to the prestigious teams.

      Don Bosco led all programs with five players named (Cedric Yoder, sr. first-team offensive line; Cade Tenold, jr. first-team linebacker; Cael Frost, sr. first-team defensive utility; Carson Tenold, jr. second-team linebacker and Dillon Welter, sr. second-team defensive back).

      Springville tied with Easton Valley for the second-most players named to All-State teams from the district as the River Hawks also saw three awarded (Porter Fuegen, sr. first-team defensive back; Kolton Murphy, sr. third-team running back/fullback and Hudson Felkey, sr. third-team offensive lineman).

      Lansing Kee had two third-teamers (Alex Goetziner, jr. offensive lineman and Damon Weber, jr. punt/kick returner) while Central City had one player named (Cole Silver, sr. second-team punter).

      West Marshall’s Brayden Evertsen was named the class 2A Captain while Remsen-St. Mary’s Blaine Harpenau claimed the class 8-player Captain award.

      For a complete list of every football All-State team, check out

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.