ANAMOSA - For a football program that came into the 2020 campaign with an almost entirely new coaching staff, what played out for Anamosa during a wild season this past fall was nothing short of impressive.

      Yes, the Raiders would have liked to have finished with a record a little better than 3-6, and 0-3 in class 2A district 5 action, but the adjustments and staff and players were able to make on the fly made for an enjoyable season for Anamosa football fans to follow.

      Eight of those Raiders earned post-season honors being named to All-District 5 teams, including first-team awards for seniors Connor Andresen, Levi Ehresman and Trae Klatt while junior Sam Wilt was named District Punter of the Year.

      Junior Grahm Humpal earned a second-team nod at quarterback for the Anamosa program while senior teammate Alex Casey was named a second-team linebacker.

      Seniors Colton Borst (wide receiver) and Andrew Morris (offensive line) were named honorable mention selections by the coaches.

      Andresen, who had another sensational season for the Raiders in 2020, was a first-team pick on the defensive line while Ehresman, who led the team with 65 tackles, a number that was second-best in the district, was a first-team nod at linebacker.

      Klatt, one of the most athletically gifted receivers in the district, showed that amazing skill all season long being named a first-team utility selection on offense.

      Klatt led the Raiders by hauling on 48 passes (second-best in the district) for 783 yards (second) while scoring six touchdowns (third). His 16.3 yards per catch also topped the team.

      Wilt punted 22 times this past season averaging 38.3 yards per punt and constantly flipped field position as his booming kicks had such massive hang times that most weren’t even returned.

      Humpal, in his second season guiding the Anamosa offense from the quarterback position, turned in an outstanding campaign leading the entire district with 2,289 all-purpose yards while also finishing in third with 11 touchdowns passes and 1,517 passing yards. His 772 rushing yards were also fourth in the district.

      Casey proved extremely valuable on both sides of the football for the Raider team in 2020, not only rushing for 524 yards (second on the team) and four touchdowns, but defensively he added 20 tackles with six going for losses.

      Borst gave the Raiders added weapons in the passing game coming through with 19 receptions for 235 yards and three touchdowns.

      Morris helped power an Anamosa offense that pounded out 1,421 yards on the ground and another 1,604 through the air this past season.

      Due to COVID, Anamosa lost games against Monticello (for the first time since 1921) and West Liberty, while coming up short in their other contests against Camanche (42-0), Maquoketa (20-14) and Tipton (34-21).

      Earning first-team class 2A All-District 5 honors on defense: defensive line-Andresen, Logan Waltz, sr. (Camanche) and Brayden Cleeton, sr. (Monticello); linebackers- Ehresman, Eric Kinkaid, jr. (Camanche) and Connor Becker, sr. (Maquoketa); defensive backs- Tyler Luensman, sr. (Monticello), Tucker Dickherber, jr. (Camanche) and Jahsiah Galvan, jr. (West Liberty).; utility- Austin Hubler, sr. (Tipton) and Lake Anderson, sr. (Tipton).

      Earning first-team All-District 5 honors on offense were: quarterback- Luke Lambert, sr. (Monticello) and Mike Delzell, jr. (Camanche); running back-Payten Elijah, sr. (Tipton); wide receivers- Justin Recker, sr. (Monticello), Jordan Lawrence, sr. (Camanche) and Caiden Atienza, sr. (Maquoketa); utility- Klatt and Kannon Coakley, sr. Maquoketa).

      Wilt was one of five players to claim special awards in the district as Camanche senior Cade Everson was named Offensive Player of the Year while Tipton senior Nile Schuett earned the Defensive Player of the Year award. Monticello sophomore Christian Castillo was named District Kicker of the Year while junior teammate Caleb Sauser claimed the District Specialist of the Year award.

      Camanche’s Dustin Coit and his staff claimed the District Coaching Staff of the Year award.

      Earning second-team All-District honors with Humpal and Casey were: Camanche- Morgan Butt, sr. and Adam Dunlap, jr.; Maquoketa- Lane Stender, sr. and Cael Koob, jr.; Monticello- Preston Ries, fr. and Kaden Kiburz, sr.; Tipton- Kaleb Nerem, jr. and Skyler Schmidt, jr.; West Liberty- Lake Newton, sr. and Kobe Simon, sr.

      Earning honorable mention status with Borst and Morris were: Camanche-Nolan Kagemann, so. and Logan Shaw, sr.; Maquoketa- Payton Schueller, sr. and Will Caes, sr.; Monticello- Bo Kramer, sr. and Tate Petersen, so.; Tipton- Carson Charves, sr. and Levi Daniel, so.; West Liberty- Sam Gingerich, sr. and Felipe Molina, sr.

      Anamosa was also well represented on the Academic All-District team with Humpal, Andresen, Kole Dietiker, Ky Kaufmann, Nate Keating, Caleb Otting and Peyton Boeckenstedt all earning prestigious honors.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.